Los Angeles Asian Film Awards - Power Of Film Institute


About Los Angeles Asian Film Awards

Los Angeles Asian Film Awards(LAAFA) is presented by Power of Film Institute, a non-profit organization which aims to help Asian filmmakers to have their voices heard.

LAAFA was originally called Las Vegas Asian Film Awards (LVAFA), was an independent festival that resides beneath the umbrella of AOF MegaFest, which was in its 19th year and is the largest film event of its kind in the world. Held in Las Vegas at the Premiere Theaters and Locations, the show regularly exceeds 20,000 guests and attendees.

After a first successful annual event in Las Vegas with the legendary AOF MegaFest in the summer of 2021, the event moved to Los Angeles, the center of the world film industry.

LAAFA Jury President

Roger Christiansen is an American TV director. His affable manner and knack for working and communicating with actors of all ages has garnered him the distinction of directing on many successful series (e.g. Friends and Hannah Montana) and afforded him the privilege of working with actors like Jeniffer Aniston, Miley Cyrus, Miranda Cosgrove, Brooke Shields, Christina Applegate, Courteney Cox, Eric Idle, Vicki Lawrence, Dolly Parton, Kiki Palmer, Larry David and Ray Romano.

Founder/President of LAAFA

Lureen Wu is an American film/TV director and producer; she graduated from the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television.

Early in her career, Lureen worked with the Emmy Award-winning television interviewer Nancy Merrill, and she is continuously working with filmmakers who are part of best-known movies and TV shows such as Friends, Les Misérables(2012), The Big Bang Theory, Saw, Sex and The City, Iron Man 2, Grey's Anatomy, The Princess Diaries, Stranger Things, Game of Thrones......

Vice President of LAAFA

Gavin Guo is an actor and pianist; he graduated from The Central Academy of Drama, Beijing.

Gavin is the first Chinese actor to receive Emmy Award Nomination for Best Actor. And he also won the Miami International Film Festival Best Actor.

He is known for Pacific Rim: Uprising, My Own Private Deutschland, The Rebel Princess, and Never Die.